Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

CCI Committees

College of Communication and Information Committees 2018-19


Faculty Affairs Committee ( 2 tenured/tenure track faculty elected per School; 2-year terms staggered within School)

Eric Haley (2019)
Robyn Blakeman (2020)

Stuart Brotman (2019)
Barb Kaye (2020)

Joan Rentsch (2019)
Laura Miller(2020)

Peiling Wang (2019)
Dania Bilal (2020) – Chair

Graduate Studies Committee ( 1 tenured/tenure-track faculty per School; staggered 2-year terms)

Rachel Fleming-May – Chair (2020)
Mark Harmon (2019)
Mike Kotowski (2019)
Sally McMillan (2020)
Lisa Christian (C&I PhD Student (2019)
Valerie Aucoin – MSIS Student (2019)
Tina Shanklin C&I MS Student (2019)
Ex-Officio: Michael Palenchar

Undergraduate Committee ( 1 tenured/tenure-track faculty elected per School; staggered 2-year terms)

Vandana Singh (2019) – Chair
Beth Foster (2020)
Nick Geidner (2020)
Courtney Wright (2019)
Ex-Officio: Michael Palenchar and Betty Bradley

Departmental Review Committee (DRC) for Human Subjects Research ( 2 reps from ADPR; 1 from CS; 2 reps from JEM; and 2 reps from IS; 1-year terms)

Wade Bishop – Chair
Julie Andsager
Peter Gross
Mariea Hoy
Mike Kotowski
Devendra Potnis
Candace White
Administrative: Beth Meko

Research Advisory Committee

Suzie Allard – Chair
Jenny Crowley
Beth Foster
Peter Gross
Devendra Potnis

Kevin Mallory (C&I PhD)
Diane Carr (C&I MS)
Joseph Winberry (MS IS)
A CCI undergraduate student (to be determined)

CICS Members (mostly administrative support):

Jesse Cragwall (lead)
Beth Meko
Yana Truman
Rachel Volentine


Dean’s Advisory Council

(1 tenured/tenure track faculty elected from each School; 1 exempt staff/1 non-exempt staff/1 lecturer appointed by Dean; 1-year term)

Lisa Gary – Chair
Mark Littmann
Emily Paskewitz
Carol Tenopir
Sifan Xu
Tanya Arnold
Lauren Ziegler
Ex-Officio: Mike Wirth

Dean’s Undergraduate Student Advisory Council

Student Presidents (or designees) from CCI Undergraduate Student Organizations

Jake Albright (Diversity Student Leaders Society)
Jorden Albright (Diversity Student Leaders Society)
Chloe Armstrong (Ad Club)
Emily Caylor (Com Studies Club)
Savanna Jacoby (SPJ)
Nicholas Stokes (NABJ)
Hannah Whitson (PRSSA)

Dean’s Graduate Student Advisory Council

William Bell (MS C&I)
Hannah Brandon (MS IS)
Ashlyn Bryant (MS C&I)
Charli Kerns (C&I PhD)
Jenilee Williams (C&I PhD)
Joseph Winberry (MS IS)
Ad Hoc Committees

CCI Strategic Planning Committee

Mike Wirth – Chair
Suzie Allard
John Haas
Diane Kelly
Catherine Luther
John McNair
Mark Geller
Michael Palenchar
Donna Silvey
Sam Swan
Maureen Taylor

CCI Ad Hoc Graduate Curriculum Committee (Fall 2018 only)

Michael Palenchar – Chair
Wade Bishop
Sally McMillan
Moonhee Cho
Laura Miller
Rachel Fleming-May
Amber Roessner
Mike Kotowski
Sam Swan

CCI Diversity Committee

John Haas – Chair
Diane Kelly
Catherine Luther
Will McDaniels
Nick Meade
Beth Meko
Michael Palenchar
Gary Peterman
Joan Rentsch
Maureen Taylor
Hillary Tune
Alice Wirth
Mike Wirth
Awa Zhu

CCI Internationalization Interest Group

Sam Swan – Chair
Dania Bilal
Lisa Gary
Mark Harmon
Virginia Kupritz
Sally McMillan
Laura Miller
Candace White

CCI Outreach Interest Group

Sam Swan – Chair
Suzie Allard
Robyn Blakeman
Rob Heller
Joan Rentsch
Cindy Welch

CCI Technology Committee

John McNair – Chair
Jesse Cragwall
Jenny Crowley
Clint Elmore
Nick Geidner
Dan Greene
Rob Heller
Anne Hensley
Virginia Kupritz
Bob Legg
Devendra Potnis
Sifan Xu

University-Wide Service Responsibilities

Faculty serve on many committees throughout UTK as part of their service and/or administrative responsibilities. The following commitments require the college to elect representatives on a regular basis.

Faculty Senate

(CCI has four senators. Senators serve three-year terms plus one of the at large faculty senators representing all UT lecturers).

Courtney Childers (2019)

Nick Geidner (2020) – CCI Caucus Chair for AY 2018-19

Amber Roessner (2021)

Sarah Huff Vassallo (2019)

Courtney Wright (2021)

Bharat Mehra (Alternate CCI Senator who will attend if any CCI Senators are unable to attend Senate Meetings)

Graduate Council (3 year terms; one representative and one proxy)

Rachel Fleming-May (July 31, 2019) / Mike Martinez (Proxy 7/31/2019); Ex-Officio: Michael Palenchar
Undergraduate Council ( 3 year terms. Dates shown are when the term expires).

Beth Foster (July 31, 2019) and Vandana Singh (July 31, 2020); Ex-Officio: Michael Palenchar

CCI Graduate Student Association (GSA) (2018-19 officers)

Kevin Mallary, CCI Graduate Student Association, President (C&I PhD, SIS)

Jenilee Williams, CCI Graduate Student Associate, Vice President, School of Communication Studies representative (C&I PhD)

Jason Stamm, CCI Graduate Student Association, Vice President, School of Journalism and Electronic Media representative (C&I PhD)

Minsoo Kim, CCI Graduate Student Association, Vice President, School of Advertising and Public Relations representative (C&I PhD)

Emily McCutcheon, CCI Graduate Student Association, Vice President, School of Information Sciences representative (MSIS)

UT Graduate Student Senate (GSS) (2018-19 Representatives)

Michelle Parker (C&I PhD, SIS)

Nicholas Sarafolean (C&I MS, ADPR)

Frankie McGinnis (MSIS)