Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Annual Alumni Awards


Advertising and Public Relations Alumni Award Winners 

School/Major Year Received Award Name  Position/ Company
Advertising  2019 Leslie Osborne (97′) Chief Executive Officer
Watauga Group/CyBear Interactive
Public Relations  2019 Ed Patterson (’89) Vice President of Communications
Madison Square Garden Company
Advertising  2018 Curtis Rose (’03) Chief Operating Officer, EP+Co
Public Relations 2018 Rebecca Huckaby (MS ’03) Vice President of Public Relations, Metropolitan Knoxville Airport Authority
Advertising  2017 Erin Hauck (’07) Senior Director of Digital Investment, Hearts & Science
Public Relations 2017 Kellie Davie (11) Founder of KeyCom PR
Advertising 2016 Erik Izo (’87) Group Creative Director, mcgarrybowen, NYC
Public Relations 2016 Tiffany Utsman Carpenter (’96) Associate Vice President of Marketing, The University of Tennessee System
Advertising  2015 Adam Brown (‘94) Executive Strategist,
Public Relations 2015 Ellen Liston (‘84) Publicist, The Dollywood Company
Advertising  2014 Dana McCullough (’95) Vice President – Account Director, McCann Erickson
Public Relations 2014 Isaac Wright (’03) Vice President, American Bridge & Correct the Record 2016
Advertising  2013 Kevin Kirksey (’98) Senior Director for Brand Communications & Digital, Nike North America
Public Relations 2013 Mary Beth West (’94) Principal, Mary Beth West Consulting


Communications Studies Alumni Award Winners

2019 Graham Thomas (’08) Deputy Director of Partnerships tnAchieves
2018 Heather Fasano (MS ’15; BA ’12) Associate Sales Representative, Medtronic – Carolinas Region
2017 Amy Harp Donahue (MS ’11; BA ’09) Director of Marketing and Communications, River City Company
2016 Tiffany M. Haverly  (’08) Communications Director, US Representative
Phil Roe (R/TN)
2015 Elizabeth Clement Webb (‘03) Special Assistant to the Deputy Director, Federal Bureau of Investigation
2014 Tyler Summitt (’13) Head Coach, Louisiana Tech Women’s Basketball Team
2013 Dean Rice (’94) Chief of Staff, Knox County Mayor Tim Burchett


Information Sciences Alumni Award Winners

2019 Zoe Hoyle (’94) Science Writer/Editor (retired)

U.S. Forest Service Southern Research Station

2018 Sandra Treadway, PhD (MS ’07) Librarian & State Archivist of Virginia, Library of Virginia
2017 Kendra Albright (PhD ’02; MS ’85) Director – School of Information Science, Kent State University
2016 Gloria Sharrar (’82) Senior Vice President of Technology & Operations(retired), Bank of America
2015 Dr. Danuta Nitecki (‘76) Dean of Libraries and Professor, College of Computing and Informatics, Drexel University
2014 Marcellus Turner (’88) City Librarian, Seattle Public Library System
2013 Dr. Shali Zhang (’88) Dean of Libraries & Professor, University of Montana


Journalism and Electronic Media Alumni Award Winners

2019 Sharrie Williams News Anchor
WPVI-TV, 6ABC Philadelphia
2018 Frank Gibson (’76) Public Policy Director, Tennessee Press Association (retired)
2017 Steve Dean (’74) Owner – FamFive Productions; creator – WBIR-TV’s Heartland Series
2016 Knight Stivender (’99) Director of Marketing & Business Development, Alcott Marketing Science; Co-Founder & CEO, Girls To The Moon
2015 Tori Blase (‘93) Supervisor & Executive Producer, CNN
2014 Viola Gienger (’84) Senior Writer, United States Institute of Peace
2013 Dean Littleton (’92) Vice President & General Manager, WATE-TV Knoxville