Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Inside CCI: May 7, 2021


Dean Mike Wirth has been selected as the winner of the 2021 Broadcast Education Association’s Distinguished Education Service Award (DESA).

Congratulations to Dr. Andrew Brown on successfully defending his dissertation, “The Issues Management Process in Nonprofit Organizations.” Special thanks to his dissertation chair Professor Candace White and committee members: Professor Sally McMillan, Associate Professor Moonhee Cho, and Christopher Stripling (Agricultural Leadership, Education and Communications).

Congratulations to Dr. E. Scott Sikes on successfully defending his dissertation, “In Out Very Blood: The Use of Social Media in the 2018 West Virginia Teachers’ Strike.” Special thanks to his dissertation chair Associate Dean and Chancellor’s Professor Suzie Allard and committee members Assistant Professor Carolyn Hank, Postdoctoral Teaching Associate Tamar Shirinian (Department on Anthropology), and Professor Bharat Mehra (University of Alabama). 

Congratulations to Dr. Xu (James) Zhang on successfully defending his dissertation, “Communicating Distant Suffering Through the Camera Lens: A Study of AP New Images of the Syrian War.” Special thanks to his dissertation chair Director and Professor Catherine Luther and committee members: Associate Professor Nick Geidner, Associate Professor Amber Roessner, and Professor Brandon Prins (Department of Political Science). 

Doctoral students Alex Carter and Jason Stamm participated in the UT’s annual Three Minute Thesis competition. You can view their presentations on the Graduate School’s 3MT event page. 

Advertising & Public Relations

DeForrest Jackson Professor Mariea Hoy had three submissions accepted for the 2021 Marketing and Public Policy Conference: Competitive Paper co-authored with Alexa K. Fox (University of Akron): “Single Parents’ Perceived Information Sensitivity and Willingness to Share Their Own and Child’s Data: Implications for Sharenting and Privacy;” Panelist, Special Session: “The Children’s Privacy Pandemic: Social Changes, Measurement Issues, and Technology Needs;” and Research-In-Progress Poster Session co-authored with doctoral student Alex Carter: ”Twitch Streamers and Their Relationships with Viewers: Marketer Paradise or Threat to Consumer Privacy?” 

Communication Studies

Associate Professor Courtney Wright was one of four University of Tennessee faculty members to receive a 2021 Excellence in Teaching award. The award is bestowed by the Office of the Chancellor and the Teaching Council of the Faculty Senate to honor outstanding work in the classroom.

Information Sciences

Abebe Rorissa is the new director and professor of the School of Information Sciences effective July 1, 2021. Rorissa comes to SIS from the State University of New York (SUNY) at Albany where he was associate professor and associate dean for faculty development in the College of Emergency Preparedness, Homeland Security and Cybersecurity.

Chancellor’s Professors Suzie Allard and Carol Tenopir, along with post-doctoral research associate David Sims and post-master’s research assistant Leah Cannon, are part of an international team funded for two years by the Sloan Foundation to study the effect of the pandemic on early career researchers. The group’s first report was published in Profesional de la Información: “The Impact of the Pandemic on Early Career Researchers: What We already Know from the Internationally Published Literature.”

Associate Professor Wade Bishop had the following articles published: 

Journalism & Electronic Media

Professor Rob Heller has been selected as the fourth recipient of the CCI Board of Visitors Professorship. The BOV Professorship, currently held by Suzie Allard, Chancellor’s Professor in Information Sciences and CCI Associate Dean for Research, was made possible by generous gifts from donors including current and emeritus members of the college’s Board of Visitors. The 3-year rotating professorship was established to recognize and reward outstanding CCI faculty members whose research, creative activity, teaching, and academic and professional service have uniquely contributed to the mission of their school, the college and the university.

Professor Barb Kaye had her article,  “A feckless punt: Cursing on Full Frontal with Samantha Bee,” published in Comedy Studies. Kaye and Tom Johnson (University of Texas, Austin) had their article, “APPsolutely trustworthy? Perceptions of trust and bias in mobile apps,” published in the Atlantic Journal of Communication, 28(4), 257-271.

Assistant Professor Mustafa Oz’ paper, “The Toxicity of Incivility: Examining the Uncivil Discourse on Facebook and Twitter,” has been selected for the virtual 71st Annual ICA conference in May. Additionally, his proposal, “Discussing Systemic Pac ism on Social Media Platforms,” was received a Diversity Challenge Grant from UTK’s Division of Diversity and Engagement.

The Tennessee Association of Broadcasters’ (TAB) Distinguished Service Award, TAB’s highest honor for service to the industry and community, was presented to Professor Sam Swan. Swan’s background encompasses over 50 years in broadcast journalism, broadcast management, broadcast education, and international media training.