Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Inside CCI: April 17, 2020


Congratulations to Melissa Ann Greene-Blye for successfully defending her dissertation. Special thanks to her dissertation committee chair Associate Professor Amber Roessner (JEM) and other committee members: Professor Emeritus Ron Taylor (ADPR), Associate Professor Michelle Violanti (CS), and Associate Professor Julie Reed (History). The title of Dr. Greene-Blye’s dissertation is “Miami in the Margins: Identity Representation and Negotiation 1846-1946.”

Congratulations to Betsy Byrne DeSimone for successfully defending her dissertation. Special thanks to her dissertation chair Professor Mariea Hoy (ADPR) and her other committee members: Professor Sally McMillan (ADPR), Associate Professor Courtney Childers (ADPR), and Associate Professor Garriy Shteynberg (Psychology). The title of Dr. DeSimone’s dissertation is “Am I in a Healthy Relationship? Exploring Emotional Consequences of Young Women’s Relationships with Social Media Influencers.”

Congratulations to Brandon Boatwright for successfully defending his dissertation. Special thanks to his dissertation chair Associate Professor Courtney Childers (ADPR) and his other committee members: Professor Beth Foster (ADPR), Associate Professor Erin Whiteside (JEM), and Associate Professor Karen Freberg (PhD C&I, 2011; University of Louisville). The title of Dr. Boatwright’s dissertation is “Exploring Online Opinion Leadership: An Analysis of the Influential Users on Twitter.”

Advertising & Public Relations

American Academy of Advertising (AAA) Conference (March 26-29, Virtual)

Professor Eric Haley assumed his role as President of the American Academy of Advertising. He previously served as the Vice President from March 2018 to March 2019 and President-Elect from March 2019 – March 2020.

Professor Sally McMillan received the Ivan L. Preston Outstanding Contribution to Research Award, which honors individuals who have made sustained and systematic contributions to advertising research.

Assistant Professor Matthew Pittman and Haley presented their paper, “Cognitive Load and Social Media Advertising: Platform Use Induces Load Which Leads to Reliance on Cues.” 

Samantha Lavoi (MS C&I, 2019) and Haley, presented their paper, “How Pro-Social Agencies Define Themselves and Their Value: A Critical Constructivist Grounded Theory.”

Master’s student Nicholas Sarafolean and doctoral student Alex Carter presented their paper, “Applying Taylor’s Message Strategy Model to Smart Speakers,” which was a finalist for the AAA outstanding student conference paper award. 

Sarafolean and Carter were awarded AAA graduate student travel grants. Lavoi was awarded the AAA’s Ronald Taylor University of Tennessee Student Travel Grant.  

More ADPR News

Pittman and Carter received a Teaching Support Award ($3,000) to trial a paid social media component for their fall 2020 classes. Pittman was named 2020 Graduate Professor of the Year by UT’s Graduate Student Senate.

Journalism & Electronic Media

Howard Distinguished Endowed Professor of Media Management and Law and Beaman Professor of Journalism and Electronic Media Stuart N. Brotman is serving a nine-month residency in Washington, D.C., as a Fellow at the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars. Recent articles include: “Why Congress Needs to Address Technology in the Next Relief Bill” for The Hill, “Viewpoint: Cybersecurity Support Key for Small Business Amid Coronavirus” for Washington Business Journal, “Let’s Get America’s Internet Nonusers Online Now” for Multichannel News“Deploying U.S. Artificial Intelligence Leadership for COVID-19 Competitively and Cooperatively” for the Journal of International Affairs, and“How Digital Privacy Protection Can Become Compatible With COVID-19 Location Data Tracking” for JETLaw.

Senior lecturer Melanie Faizer published a story in digital magazine Southerly about Tennessee dam safety and regulation as it relates to climate change.