Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

2019 CCI Alumni & Faculty Awards

Website header - Flowers

Five college alumni and six members of the faculty were honored for their accomplishments at the CCI 50th Anniversary Gala, which was held October 11 at the Knoxville Convention Center.

The school and program alumni awards have been given annually since 2013, and the oldest CCI faculty awards were presented in 1982.

Nannette Baker (JEM ’78), the 2019 Donald G. Hileman Distinguished Alumni Award winner, was also honored at the gala.

2019 CCI School/Program Alumni Award Winners


Leslie Osborne (’97)

Founder & Chief Executive Officer, Watauga Group/CyBear Interactive

Communication Studies

Graham Thomas (’08)

Deputy Director of Partnerships, tnAchieves

Information Sciences

Zoe Hoyle (MSIS ’94)

Science Writer/Editor, U.S. Forest Service, Southern Research Station (retired)

Journalism & Electronic Media

Sharrie Williams

News Anchor, WPVI-TV, 6ABC Philadelphia

Public Relations

Ed Patterson (’89)

Vice President of Communications, Madison Square Garden Company (former)

2019 CCI Faculty Award Recipients

Faculty Teaching Award

Awa Zhu

Associate Professor, Information Sciences

Faculty Research Award

Barb Kaye

Professor, Journalism & Electronic Media

Faculty Service/Outreach Award

Vandana Singh

Associate Professor, Information Sciences

Lecturer Teaching Award

Sharon Toedte

Lecturer, Advertising & Public Relations

Bud Minkel International/Intercultural Award

Devendra Potnis

Associate Professor, Information Sciences