Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

April 29, 2019


Assistant Professor Emily Paskewitz was recognized as the Undergraduate Research Mentor of the Year for CCI by the University of Tennessee Office of Undergraduate Research.

Distinguished Lecturer Suzy Prentiss’ made a presentation, “Once Upon a Time: The Power of Story,” at the April 2019 TEDxUTK event, On Another Wavelength.

At the annual EUReCA Awards, CS senior Dara Carney-Nedelman received an Office of Research and Engagement Silver Award and first place in the CCI award competition for “AUIGTROSAI (Acronym Usage in Groups: The Relationship of Socialization and Identification)” with faculty mentor Assistant Professor Emily Paskewitz. CS senior Emily Caylor took second in the CCI division for “Family Communication Patterns and Advice Response Theory: How Emerging Adults View Parental Advice on Money” with faculty mentor Associate Professor Courtney N. Wright.


J. Paul Blakely Awards

Five students won top honors for science writing and technical/professional writing from the Society for Technical Communication – East Tennessee Chapter. The annual awards will be presented Wednesday, May 1, and include a cash prize and certificate.

JEM senior Abby Bower earned an Award of Distinction in the undergraduate science writing division for “ORNL Scientist Isolates Potentially Disease-Causing Microorganism.” Bower, who was recently named JEM’s top graduating senior, will start a science writing internship at Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL) this summer.

JEM junior Christy White received an Award of Excellence in the undergraduate science writing division for “Enter to Learn. Go Forth to Serve,” which chronicled a Fulton High School teacher’s environmental education program with the Tremont Institute. This summer, White will be starting her second science writing internship with ORNL in a different division.

Chloe Lash earned an Award of Distinction in the graduate science writing division for “The Invisible Drivers: Why We Should Care About What We Cannot See.” Lash is a doctoral student in ecology and evolutionary biology.

Megan Lilly took home an Award of Excellence for “Into the Quantum Realm.” Lilly is a doctoral student in energy science and engineering, a Bredesen Center interdisciplinary ORNL-UT doctoral program.

Evan Newell, a senior in chemical engineering, received an Award of Distinction in the undergraduate technical/professional writing category for “Polymers to the People: Making Polymer Science More Readable.”

More JEM News

Instructor Maria Fontenot and Assistant Professor Michael Martinez’ article, “FCC’s Indecency Regulation: A Comparative Analysis Between Broadcast and Online Media,”  will be published in the UCLA Entertainment Law Review, May 2019.

Martinez accompanied JEM students Will Boling, Elizabeth Profit, Cory Sanning, and Tyler Wombles onan NFL Draft behind-the-scenes media experience on Wednesday, April 24, in Nashville, Tennessee. The group was on hand for media interviews with NFL Network personalities, a taping of 10 Burning Questions with Daniel Jeremiah, and one-on-one time with Charles Davis, the former Tennessee Volunteer and noted television football analyst.

Howard Distinguished Endowed Professor of Media Management and Law and Beaman Professor of Journalism and Electronic Media Stuart N. Brotman was quoted in a Law360 article titled “4 Things to Know about Facebook’s New General Counsel.” Click here to read the article.


April 29

Study Day

May 9

CCI Commencement, TBA, 4 – 6 PM

May 9

UT Graduate Hooding, TBA, 7 – 9 PM

May 27

Memorial Day, UT closed

May 30

Summer Semester starts