Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

June/July 2018: Faculty News

Stuart N. Brotman, Howard Distinguished Endowed Professor of Media Management and Law and Beaman Professor of Journalism and Electronic Media, has been included in The Cable Center’s Hauser Oral History project.
ADPR Assistant Professor Moonhee Cho and JEM Senior Lecturer Melanie Faizer were among 27 UT faculty members selected as 2018 Faculty Fellows for UT’s Teaching and Learning Innovation Summer Institute (TLISI). During the TLISI, faculty received training on inclusive teaching strategies, elements of course design, assessment, experiential learning risk management, technology in the classroom, and other topics. As part of their fellowships, Cho redesigned PBRL 470 – Public Relations Campaigns (service-learning), and Faizer redesigned JREM 350 – Digital Journalism (field work).
Cho was also awarded a 2018 Engagement and Outreach MiniGrant from the UT Office of Community Engagement and Outreach for her project, “Making Campus & Community Green Through Zero Waste Gameday.”
(Cho, second row, 2nd from the right. Faizer, second row, 4th from the right.)
JEM Professor Peter Gross recently received an Honorary Degree from Babes-Bolyai University (BBU) in Cluj-Napoca, Romania. While there, he presented the keynote at the International Conference on Innovation in Journalism Education and Media Practices held in conjunction with BBU’s Media Culture Days 2018.
Peter Gross
(Professor Peter Gross is in the middle.)
CCI Dean Mike Wirth has been elected to serve a 3-year term on the Association of Schools of Journalism and Mass Communication (ASJMC) Executive Committee representing large programs beginning in August 2018.
Congratulations to the following CCI faculty for receiving Dean’s Summer Research Grants: ADPR Associate Professor Courtney Childers, ADPR Assistant Professor Moonhee Cho, ADPR Professor Beth Foster,  JEM Associate Professor Nick Geidner, CS Assistant Professor Emily Paskewitz, SIS Chancellor’s Professor Carol Tenopir, and SIS Assistant Professor Awa Zhu.