Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

2018 CS & IS Scholarships and Honors

Students from the School of Communication Studies were recognized at an awards ceremony on April 30, 2018, and a number of SIS students received awards at the School of Information Sciences’ Hooding Ceremony on May 11.

The students who received scholarships will join scholarship donors and the students announced in the April issue of Circle Park News at the November 9, 2018 CCI Awards and Scholarship Donor Appreciation Banquet at the Holiday Inn Knoxville Downtown.

The CS and SIS students receiving awards and scholarships were:

Kelsie JonesCommunication Studies

Top CS Graduate – Kelsie Jones

Judy Flanagan Scholarship – Lauren Reed

Michael K. Hamrick Scholarship – Dara Carey-Nedelman, Hannah Puckett

Charles J. McClung Prize – Justin Park


Kristina Clement with Dean WirthInformation Sciences Awards

Outstanding IS Graduate – Kristina Clement

Gary Purcell Award – Tyler Martindale

Academic Achievement Award – Brianne Dosch and Courtney Hunt

Outstanding Service Award – Zoe Bastone

Best Thesis Award – Scott Sikes

Best ePortfolio Award – Elizabeth Osborne

Best ePortfolio Award (Honorable Mention) – Jordan Kaufman

Best Technical Project Award (Group) – Kristina Clement, Brianne Dosch, Lauren Johnson

Best Technical Project Award (Individual) – Rebecca McCusker

Best Paper Award – Ashlea Green

Information Sciences Scholarships

Beverly Dance Scholarship – Nick Floyd

Glenn Estes Scholarship – Ashley Brown, Jennifer Heyboer, Angela Pillow, Chelsea Tarwater

Luigi Lemoncello Scholarship – Claire Prisock, Laurie Stansbury, Lana Cantrell, Elaine Posanka

Carmen L. Moulton Fellowship – Clancy Anderson, Heather Miller

Gary R. Purcell Scholarship – Victoria James Catalano, Chelsea Seddon

Jane M. Ray Scholarship – Krista Cole, Alicia Foster, Christy Thomas, Jared Uncles

SIS Scholarship – Chris Barrett, Kimberly Bradshaw, Savanna Draper, Victoria Seng, Bethany Thornton, Erin Whitaker

Marcellus Turner Excellence Award – Josh Borycz, Hilary Jasmin

H. W. Wilson Scholarship – Mallory Blasingame, Susannah Choate, Cassia Kisshauer, Mary Roberts, Albert Salatka, Bridgette Wisdom