Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

March 2018: Alumni News

Pitts WrightGreg Pitts (PhD/C&I ’92), director of faculty and student programs for the National Association of Television Program Executives (NATPE) Educational Foundation and professor and director of the School of Journalism at Middle Tennessee State University, has been selected to receive the 2018 BEA Distinguished Education Service Award (DESA).  The DESA is awarded to an individual who has made a significant and lasting contribution to the American system of electronic media education.  The award will be presented to Pitts at BEA’s 2018 annual convention ceremony in Las Vegas on Sunday, April 8, 2018.
Isaac Wright (BS/JEM ’03 and CCI Board of Visitors member) and his team at Forward Solution Strategy Group (FSSG) were recognized with four Reed Awards and six additional finalist recognitions at the Campaigns & Elections Reed Awards. The four winning submissions are: Best Web Video for Democratic Statewide Candidate (A Cowboy for Governor), Best Non-Traditional Online Advertising, Best Web Video for Mayoral Candidate (A Kid from Southwest Little Rock), Best Fundraising Email Creative/Copy For Mayoral Candidate. The six finalist submissions included four for A Cowboy for Governor including: Overall Best Website, Overall Best Web Video, Best Advocacy Advertising Campaign, Best Website For Statewide Candidate), and Best Use of Video on Social Platform. Woods for Judge also received a finalist submission for Best Website For County, Local, Or Judicial Candidate.
Wright and his business partner, Kate Monson, sponsored two CCI student registrations for the Annual Association of Political Consultants Conference (AAPC) being held April 11 – 13, 2018 in Nashville, Tennessee.  A third CCI student won an AAPC scholarship to attend.