Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Circle Park News: June/July 2017

/* Target Outlook 2007 and 2010 */

Mariea Hoy Awarded Inaugural DeForrest Jackson Professorship

Mariea Hoy
Mariea Hoy, a professor in the School of Advertising and Public Relations, is the inaugural recipient of the DeForrest Jackson Professorship. The school’s first named professorship, the DeForrest Jackson Professorship was created earlier this year with a $500,000 gift from Suzanne Sackleh Masters of Atlanta, who received her bachelor’s degree in advertising and public relations in 1989. Masters made the gift in honor of her favorite professor, DeForrest Jackson. Find out more
2017 Faculty Promotions
The University of Tennessee Board of Trustees has approved Wade Bishop (SIS) and Nick Geidner (JEM) for promotion to Associate Professor with tenure. In addition, UT Interim Provost John Zomchick has approved Megan Fields (CS), Lisa Gary (JEM) and Suzy Prentiss (CS) for promotion to Distinguished Lecturer and Melanie Faizer and Sarah Huff Vassallo for promotion to Senior Lecturer. All of these promotions are effective August 1, 2017.
Roxanne Hovland
ADPR Professor Hovland to Retire
Professor Roxanne Hovland is retiring from the School of Advertising and Public Relations and the University of Tennessee effective August 31, 2017. Upon her retirement after 30 years of service to ADPR, CCI and UT, she will become a Professor Emeritus in the School of Advertising and Public Relations. Find out more.
More CCI Alums Added to Tennessee Alumnus Top 100
The University of Tennessee system’s Tennessee Alumnus magazine is publishing a list of the Top 100 University of Tennessee graduates across the UT System as part of the magazine’s centennial anniversary. Two of the three editions have been published with the final installment of the Top 100 still to come. Find out more.
June/July 2017 Profiles:
Manning Ingle
Former NFL quarterback Peyton Manning (BA/CS ’97) received the Lincoln Medal in a June 5, 2017 ceremony at Ford’s Theatre. The Ford’s Theatre Society awards the Lincoln Medal to individuals whose body of work, accomplishments or personal attributes embody Lincoln’s legacy.
JEM Associate Professor Amber Roessner has been selected as a Kopenhaver Center Fellow for 2017. She will attend a workshop in August at the AEJMC conference in Chicago as a part of her fellowship.
Gatlin McPherson
CS student Gatlin McPherson was featured in a WBIR-TV story because his fellow student, Ashytnn Gilmore, a senior in chemical engineering, is trying to help him obtain a replacement for his communication device.
Student News
Student News
Read the latest news about CCI students:Land Grant Films and 90.3 the Rock – WUTK-FM. Find out more.
Faculty News
Faculty News
Read the latest news about CS Professor Joan Rentsch, IS Clinical Associate Professor Cindy Welch, CS Distinquished Lecturer Suzy Prentiss and IS Associate Professor Kimberly Douglass. Find out more
Alumni News
Alumni News
Read the latest news about Monica Abbott (BA/CS ’08), Cathy Ackermann (BS/PR ’71), Dan Hellie (BS/JEM ‘97), Emily King (MS/C&I ’17), Mark McNeely (BS/JEM ’70), and Mary Beth West (BS/PR ‘94). Find out more
The New Class Notes
CCI Class Notes
Class Notes through July 2017 can be seen at

Keep in touch! Submit or update your information here:

College of Communication and Information
432 Communications | 1345 Circle Park Drive
Knoxville, TN 37996-0332
<!– 123-456-7890 –> P: 865-974-3211

Twitter Instagram Facebook Video LinkedIn

Big Orange. Big Ideas.

Give to CCI!

Student Media

The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.