Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

May 2017: Faculty/Staff News

Three School of Journalism and Electronic Media professors have been awarded $5,000 research grants from the UT Professional and Scholarly Development Awards (PSDA) in the Visual and Performing Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences Fund for the 2017-2018 academic year: Howard Distinguished Endowed Professor of Media Management and Law and Beaman Professor of Communication and Information Stuart Brotman, Assistant Professor Mike Martinez and Associate Professor Erin Whiteside. The titles of their projects are as follows:

  • Brotman: “The digital innovation cycle in context:  From an antitrust litigation settlement to the development of Silicon Valley.”
  • Martinez: “Private lives in a public office:  The image and memory from JFK to BHO by the personal photographers who documented them.”
  • Whiteside: “Imaging equality:  Journalism, gender and the multiple mediated realities of Title IX.”

JEM Professor Rob Heller was the featured artist and speaker at the UT Downtown Gallery’s First Friday event for June. He presented, “Living On,” an exhibition of 24 portraits of holocaust survivors and liberators.
JEM Professor Barb Kaye has been accepted into the 2017 Scripps Howard Academic Leadership Academy. This year’s Academy, a partnership between the Scripps Howard Foundation and the LSU Manship School of Mass Communication, will be held June 11-14, 2017. Twelve to fifteen academics and professionals from diverse backgrounds are competitively selected annually to participate in this program. It is designed for new chairs, deans and directors, and faculty and professionals interested in journalism education leadership. By bringing together professionals and scholars with seasoned administrators, the program aims to give participants the opportunity to learn about the challenges and rewards of leading an academic program.
JEM Assistant Professor Nick Geidner has received a National Association of Television Program Executives (NATPE) Faculty Development Grant to spend two weeks interning at WBIR-TV this summer. He will observe WBIR’s social media team (and other departments) to understand how newsrooms are integrating social media into their coverage to help shape the new Social Journalism course (JEM 422) he will teach this fall. The grant also gives him free registration for the 2018 NATPE Conference (January 16-18 in Miami) plus $500 to help cover travel and lodging expenses.
Geidner and SIS Clinical Associate Professor Cindy Welch are among the 25 UT Knoxville faculty members that received experience learning faculty grants to redesign courses to more fully incorporate experience learning. They will also participate in the Experience Learning Summer Institute. Geidner will redesign JEM 515 Advanced Reporting Across Media (fieldwork) and Welch will redesign IS 583 Introduction to Youth Infomatics (fieldwork, service-learning).
Gary Peterman has been promoted from his current position as an academic advisor in CCI’s Center for Undergraduate Studies and Advising to his new position as senior academic advisor effective July 1, 2017.
Wilbert McDaniels began his new position as an academic advisor in CCI’s Center for Undergraduate Studies and Advising effective May 15, 2017. He was promoted into this role after serving as the Center’s administrative support assistant for the past two years.