Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

CCI Honors School/Program Alumni and Faculty

CCI honored a notable graduate from each of its schools and programs at its campaign kickoff and awards gala on Friday, November 11. The 2016 CCI faculty award winners were also recognized at the event.

“On a daily basis, we’re keenly aware that we are preparing future leaders. Each year, when we pause to recognize noteworthy alumni, we are reminded of the importance of our work,” said CCI Dean Mike Wirth. “From newsrooms to boardrooms, from private companies to the public sector and academic positions, CCI graduates are making a significant impact on our world, and we are extremely proud of them!”

Izo, Haverly, Sharrar, Stivender, Carpenter, WirthThis year’s honorees are:

  • Advertising Alumnus of the Year: Erik Izo, a 1987 graduate and group creative director at mcgarrybowen in New York City.
  • Communication Studies Alumna of the Year: Tiffany M. Haverly, a 2008 graduate and communications director for US Representative Phil Roe in Washington DC.
  • Information Sciences Alumna of the Year: Gloria Sharrar, a 1982 graduate and retired senior vice president of technology and operations at Bank of America in Richmond, Virginia.
  • Journalism and Electronic Media Alumna of the Year: Knight Stivender, a 1999 graduate, who is co-founder and CEO of Girls to the Moon and director of marketing and business development for Alcott Marketing Science in Nashville.
  • Public Relations Alumna of the Year: Tiffany Utsman Carpenter, a 1996 graduate and associate vice president of marketing for the University of Tennessee System in Knoxville.

Also during the gala, the college’s highest alumni honor—the Donald G. Hileman Alumni Award—went to Cathy Ackermann, president and CEO of Ackermann PR (learn more here).

2016 Faculty AwardsEach year CCI recognizes faculty accomplishments in a number of areas. This year’s award recipients are:

Faculty Teaching Award: IS Assistant Professor Carolyn Hank

Faculty Research Award: IS Assistant Professor Wade Bishop

Faculty Service/Outreach: ADPR Associate Professor Lisa Fall

Lecturer Teaching Award: JEM Senior Lecturer Lisa Gary

Bud Minkel International/Intercultural Award: ADPR Professor Candace White

“Congratulations to Carolyn, Wade, Lisa, Lisa and Candace on their excellent work, which earned them this special recognition,” said Dean Wirth. “Their contributions to the college and university are notable and greatly appreciated!”