Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Student News: Science Writing Awards

Three students from JEM Professor Mark Littmann’s science writing classes won prizes in the annual J. Paul Blakely Awards competition sponsored by the Society for Technical Communication-East Tennessee Chapter.

In the Science Writing Division, Daniel Shyles, a senior in physics and astronomy, won the Award of Distinction; Madison Eubanks (BS/JEM ’16) won the Award of Excellence; and Corinne Smith, a junior majoring in sustainability with a minor in journalism and electronic media, won the Award of Merit.   All winners received cash prizes and certificates at the STC-ETC’s Blakely Awards Banquet on April 29.

Shyles’ article provided a profile of a microbiology researcher. Eubanks’ article traced the transformation of an abandoned and polluted industrial site into University Commons. Smith’s article examined the decline of the honeybee population.