Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

CCI Students Receive Chancellor’s Honors

UT Chancellor Jimmy G. Cheek hosted the annual Chancellor’s Honors Banquet recognizing UT faculty, staff and students for their extraordinary accomplishments and service on April 19, 2016. Several CCI students were among those honored at the event.

Jamesia TerryJamesia Terry received the 2016 Gene Mitchell Gray Pioneer Award. The Gene Mitchell Gray Pioneer Award recognizes a student or group for promoting cultural diversity and enrichment on campus. Terry’s passionate advocacy for social justice issues has strengthened the campus network for UT’s diverse student population and prompted her peers to become more engaged in diversity and inclusion efforts. A journalism and electronic media major with a minor in Africana studies, Terry has served as a transfer transition guide, a Welcome Week leader, and a Black Issues Conference committee member, and she is the current NAACP student chapter president. She completed the elite LeaderShape Institute and helped grow student attendance at the Multicultural Welcome reception by 83 percent over two years.

Andraya Andraya CarterCarter received a 2016 Extraordinary Community Service award which honors students and student organizations that exhibit the Volunteer spirit in the community. Carter, from Flowery Branch, Georgia, is a well-rounded student athlete and a member of the Lady Vols basketball team. She completed her bachelor’s degree in Communication Studies in just three years with a 3.83 GPA and is now pursuing a master’s in kinesiology with a concentration in sport psychology. She spent 100 hours this academic year volunteering with students at the Tennessee School for the Deaf and has been involved in multiple organizations, including Hoops for Hope and the Boys and Girls Club. She is also a member of VOLeaders Academy, a group composed of Tennessee student-athletes seeking to affect social change through the platform of sport.

LaSabLaSabra Williamsra Williams received a 2016 Extraordinary Campus Leadership and Service award, which recognizes graduating students who are extraordinary campus leaders for their significant service to others. Williams, a communication studies major from Nashville, joined UT’s Central Program Council as a member of the Film Committee in her freshman year. By her senior year, she was elected vice president of membership for the Central Program Council, overseeing all recruitment, interviews, and selection of new CPC members. She has also served in the Office of New Student and Family Programs and as an Ignite team leader. She’s been a student assistant in both the Office of the Vice Chancellor for Student Life and the Center for Student Engagement.

Two CCI students received 2016 Top Collegiate Scholar awards: Cody Taylor Gross and Lauren Elizabeth Robinson.

Seven CCI students received 2016 Extraordinary Academic Achievement honors including:

  • Makenzy Davis
  • Jonathan Generotti
  • Cody Gross
  • Savannah Ivey
  • Emilee Lamb
  • Lauren Robinson
  • Steven Woods

Fifteen CCI students received 2016 Extraordinary Professional Promise honors including:  

  • Courtney Boykin
  • Jessica Carr
  • Basha Coleman
  • Danielle Duran
  • Kristalee Gilbert
  • Carly Kirkpatrick
  • Cassie Mellon Ray
  • Reynard Regenstreif-Harms
  • Alexandra Rich
  • Olivia Rothermel
  • Anna Safren
  • Kathryn Theobald
  • Whitney Tipton
  • Chandler White
  • Amber Wilson