Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

April 22, 2016

Friday, April 22, 2016                                                                          

Inside CCI – Available online at





Assistant Professor Abbey Levenshus was an invited scholar and keynote speaker at the annual Undergraduate Ethics Symposium hosted by the Prindle Institute for Ethics at DePauw University, April 14 – 16, 2016. The theme of this year’s event was Text, Tweet, Trigger: The Ethics of Communication in the 21st Century. Her keynote address was titled, “An ethical disaster? Working at the intersection of ethics and disaster communication.” 


Congratulations to Jun Cheong for successfully completing and defending his dissertation, “Purchase decision type influences on consumers’ reliance:  Brand-related user-generated content.” Thanks to his dissertation chair Associate Professor Michael Palenchar and his other committee members: Associate Professor Elizabeth Avery Foster, Professor Daniel Flint (HCB), and Jin Seong Park (Incheon National U.).


Also congratulations to Hannah Shinault for successfully completing and defending her dissertation, “Understanding perceptions of breast health in a Southern Appalachian community.” Thanks to her dissertation chair Professor Candace White and her other committee members: Associate Professor Lisa Fall, Associate Professor Elizabeth Avery Foster, and Assistant Professor Jennifer Jabson (Public Health).




Associate Professor Bharat Mehra moderated a panel, “Insights of rural librarians on making an impact in their Appalachian communities,” during the Tennessee Library Association annual conference, in Kingsport, Tennessee, April 5-8, 2016. Becca Baker, Becca Decker, Tonia Kestner, Laura Murray, and Mary Rayme, recent rural librarian graduates from the IMLS-funded ITRL2 Program, discussed the challenges, opportunities, outcomes, and impact they are having on their rural Appalachian communities. 




Professor Julie Andsager presented a research paper, “U.S. rural communities’ health concerns as framed in their news media,” at the2016 Kentucky Conference on Health Communication, in Lexington, Kentucky, April 15-16, 2016.


Howard Distinguished Professor Stuart N. Brotman has been appointed to the North American Steering Committee of the Global Forum, an annual gathering of 300+ key policymakers and public/private stakeholders from 35+ countries and 5 continents. The Forum, among the most important summits for information and communications technologies (ICT) decision-makers, has been described as the “Davos of ICT.” It plays a definitive role in fostering new international initiatives and in helping to create public-private partnerships. 


The Northern Illinois University (NIU) Department of Communication Journalism Program has named Director Peter Gross as the recipient of its 2016 NIU Donald R. Grubb Distinguished Journalism Alumni of the Year Award. Gross, who holds a bachelor’s degree in journalism from NIU, will receive his award on April 22 at the 69th Annual Journalism Banquet in DeKalb, Illinois.





April 29

Last Day of Classes

April 29

CCI Faculty/Staff Meeting, 9:00 – 11:00 a.m.

May 2

Communication Studies Student Awards Ceremony

May 2

Study Day

May 3 – 10

Final Exams

May 12

CCI Commencement, 11:30 a.m., Thompson-Boling Arena (TBA)

May 12

UT Graduate Hooding Ceremony, 7 p.m., TBA

May 13

SIS Hooding Ceremony, 10 a.m., Carousel Theater

May 30

Memorial Day


Inside CCI is the newsletter for faculty, staff, and students of the College of Communication and Information.  To view the archives of the cci-facstaff or Join/Leave this list: