Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

UT's Tenopir Receives Fulbright-Nokia Distinguished Chair Honor

Professor Carol TenopirCarol Tenopir, a Chancellor’s Professor and the CCI Board of Visitors Professor in UT Knoxville’s School of Information Sciences, has been selected as the Fulbright-Nokia Distinguished Chair in Information and Communications Technologies for the 2016-2017 academic year. The position is considered one of the most prestigious appointments in the Fulbright Scholar Program.
Tenopir will be working with colleagues at the Hanken School of Economics, Department of Management and Organisation in Helsinki, Finland. The Fulbright Nokia Chair position will offer Tenopir the opportunity to engage in international research collaboration and in writing joint research articles and grant proposals with her Finnish colleagues for several months beginning in August. While in Finland, she also will be teaching and lecturing as well as mentoring doctoral student research.
Since the first appointment in 2010-2011, only eight scholars have been awarded this Distinguished Chair position. Tenopir will be the first from UT to receive the honor and the first woman. Howard Distinguished Professor of Journalism and Electronic Media Stuart Brotman was a Fulbright-Nokia Distinguished Chair in 2012-2013 while at Harvard University before coming to UT in January 2016. UT is the first university and the College of Communication and Information is the first college to have two Fulbright-Nokia Distinguished Chairs serving on its faculty.
Other awards received by Tenopir include: the recipient of the 2009 Award of Merit from the Association for Information Science & Technology, the ASIST 2002 Research Award, the 1993 Outstanding Information Science Teacher Award, the 2000 ALISE Award for Teaching Excellence and the 2004 International Information Industry Lifetime Achievement Award.
Tenopir is one of the most prolific and highly cited authors in the field of library and information sciences. She is the author of five books and more than 200 articles and is a frequent speaker at professional conferences. She has conducted research projects funded by the National Science Foundation, the Institute of Museum and Library Services, IEEE, the Sloan Foundation, Mello and others. She has served on advisory boards for numerous electronic publishers, including ProQuest, Factiva, Ingenta, Dryad, ACM and Online Inc.
The Fulbright-Nokia Distinguished Chair in Information and Communications Technologies is funded by the Nokia Foundation, the Finnish Fulbright Commission, and the Fulbright Center. The U.S. program partner is the Council for International Exchange of Scholars.