Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Faculty News: Brotman, Geidner, Gross, Haley, Paskewitz, Rentsch, Taylor, Tenopir and Wang

Faculty News March 2016

Howard Distinguished Professor of Media Management and Law and Beaman Professor Stuart N. Brotman (JEM) has been appointed an Affiliated Researcher at the Media Management Transformation Centre (MMTC), Jönköping International Business School, Sweden. He joins Professor Robert G. Picard, currently at the Reuters Institute in the Department of Politics and International Relations at the University of Oxford, as the only Americans serving in this capacity.

Assistant Professor Nick Geidner’s (JEM) 30-minute documentary, “Reaching Recovery,” was broadcast live on Knoxville’s WBIR-TV on March 10, 2016. The broadcast was viewed by an estimated audience of 34,700 households and received such a strong response the station is considering re-airing the film, which was produced by JEM’s LandGrant Films, at a future date. The documentary was also discussed in the National RX Drug Abuse & Heroin Summit weekly email newsletter after the broadcast. See the original story for a full list of students and graduates who worked on the film at

On March 24, 2016 the Tennessee house subcommittee voted to allow the 2014 fetal-assault law to expire in July 2016. The law was discussed in the documentary and in the subsequent panel discussion and was noted to have caused a negative impact by discouraging drug addicted mothers from seeking addiction therapy for fear of prosecution. While the documentary cannot claim credit for reversing the law, it certainly helped to educate and heighten awareness of the problem.

JEM Director and Professor Peter Gross recently returned from New York City where he served as a ratings reviewer for Freedom House’s worldwide annual Freedom of the Press Report. Freedom House is an independent watchdog organization dedicated to the expansion of freedom and democracy around the world. Every year, the organization releases a report about each country’s freedom of the press. Freedom House chooses a new lineup of regional and country experts to serve as ratings review advisors every three years.

Professor Eric Haley (ADPR) will receive the University of Georgia Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication’s Distinguished Alumni Scholar Award and be inducted into the 2016 Grady Fellows class at a ceremony in Athens, Georgia on May 6. Haley earned his bachelor’s, master’s and PhD from the college prior to beginning his academic career at UT in 1992. 

Assistant Professor Emily Paskewitz (CS) served as an honorary coach at Senior Day for the UT Men’s Basketball team (UT vs. Ole Miss) on March 5, 2016. 

CCI Associate Dean and Professor Joan Rentsch and ADPR Director and Beaman Professor Maureen Taylor have been selected to the 2016-17 class of the UT Leadership Program. Rentsch and Taylor represent two of the 11 UTK faculty members selected for the new leadership class.

Chancellor’s Professor and CCI Board of Visitors Professor Carol Tenopir (SIS) was interviewed by the Association Media & Publishing’s Signature magazine for a February article, “Three Questions for Carol Tenopir.” The article can be found at

Information Sciences’ iSchool conference award finalists were: Professor Peiling Wang, doctoral student Manasa Rath and Master’s student Michael Deike in the Most Interesting Preliminary Results Paper category for their paper, “Open post publication peer review: An innovation in scientific communication,” and doctoral student Frank Aviles for his poster, “Familism: The transitional journey of a Latina LIS doctoral student.