Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Alumni News: Abbott, Bohan, Driver, James, Frey, John

Alumni News October 2015An article on Scott Abbott (MS/C&I ’78), Trivial Pursuit co-inventor, appeared in the Fall 2015 issue of the Torchbearer. Read the article here:

David Bohan (BS/BA ‘70), chairman of BOHAN Advertising and BOV member, was featured in a  Nashville Business Journal Q&A article focused on how BOHAN Advertising built its award winning culture. See

Two CCI alumni were named to newly created senior roles by Scripps Networks Interactive.

Shannon Jamieson Driver (BS/JEM ’99; MBA ’11), who currently leads US marketing and creative services for HGTV, DIY Network and Great American Country, has been appointed to a new role as US senior vice president of network marketing and creative services. Driver will now assume overall marketing responsibilities for the above three networks, plus Food Network, Cooking Channel and Travel Channel.

Freddy James (BS/JEM ’96) has been named senior vice president of network integrated programming, working across all six brands to leverage programming content, on-air talent and digital programming extensions to create integration opportunities.

Valerie Frey’s (MS/IS ‘99) new book, “Preserving Family Recipes: How to Save and Celebrate Your Food Traditions,” was released this month by University of Georgia Press. The book is a step-by-step guide for the family food genealogist. Using archival practices learned from information science coursework and experience, Frey steps the reader through the process of preserving family food traditions for future generations (see Photo by Amberlee Fletcher, Lilac Lens Photography

Sharon Price John (BS/ADV ’86), CEO of Build-A-Bear and BOV member, recently wrote a commentary piece for Fortune magazine. The commentary is particularly compelling because the undergraduate school to which she refers is UT and our presentation to her of CCI’s Hileman Distinguished Alumni Award at the November 2014 CCI Awards and Scholarship Donor Appreciation Banquet (see