Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Andsager Receives National AEJMC Award

Julie Andsager

JEM Professor Julie Andsager (PhD/C&I ’93) was named this year’s Outstanding Woman in Journalism & Mass Communication Education by the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication’s (AEJMC) Commission on the Status of Women. The award was presented at the AEJMC Business Meeting on Saturday, August 8, 2015 as part of AEJMC’s annual conference in San Francisco.  

Andsager received the award because she has represented women well through her excellent contributions to journalism and mass communication education and high standards. She has provided extensive service to AEJMC by working on many committees including service on AEJMC’s Executive Committee; In addition, she was a Moeller Research Scholar at the University of Iowa and interim director of Iowa’s School of Journalism and Mass Communication. University of North Texas, Mayborn School of Journalism Professor and Director Cory Armstrong, who nominated Andsager, noted her commitment to mentoring graduate students as one of her most important strengths. “Julie goes out of her way for students. Her graduate student mentoring is nearly unmatched,” said Armstrong.

“Julie has been a great addition to our faculty, and we congratulate her on this national recognition of her outstanding work,” said CCI Dean Mike Wirth.

As noted in last month’s Circle Park News, JEM Professor Mark Harmon received the Edward L. Bliss Award at the same conference (see