Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Alumni News: Costner, McConkey, Venable, Woolley, McNeely, Chapman

Suzanne Costner

Media Specialist Suzanne Costner (MS/IS ’08) was named the 2015 National Educator of the Year by the Civil Air Patrol Aerospace Connections in Education Program for her work in STEAM (science, technology, engineering, arts and mathematics) areas with the children at Maryville’s Fairview Elementary.  As part of her award, Costner will be flown on a C-130 to Seattle, Washington to visit a number of major business and technology centers. For more details on her award and tour see

Alice Wirth, Theresa Venable, Cindy McConkey, Dean Wirth

Cindy McConkey (BS/JEM ’80) and Theresa Venable (MS/IS ’03) were two of four individuals honored during the Inaugural Spring Revue Knoxville – 2015 of the Women’s Political Collaborative.  Also congratulations to Deb Woolley (BS/JEM ’70) who served as the Honorary Co-Chair of the event along with longtime UT women’s athletic director Joan Cronan. The other two honorees were Knoxville Mayor Madelline Rogero and Tennessee State Senator Becky Duncan Massey. McConkey, Venable and Woolley are current members of CCI’s Board of Visitors.

Mark McNeelyAnne ChapmanCCI Board of Visitors member Mark McNeely (BS/JEM ’70), Alice Chapman (BS/PR ’94) and their MP&F team won a 2015 National Gold SABRE Award and a national PRSA Silver Anvil Award for their Red White and Food campaign. For more information see and