Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

May 2015: Student News

Lindsey Bier in DCCCI doctoral student Lindsey Bier was highlighted in a recent Tennessee Today story for her research work on Vietnam veterans (see
JEM’s student produced documentary, “Conspicuous Gallantry: The 2014 The Medal of Honor Convention,” won first place in SPJ’s (Society of Professional Journalists’) Region 12 Mark of Excellence Awards. JEM’s Medal of Honor Project also won best online news reporting for its comprehensive coverage of the 2014 Medal of Honor Convention held in Knoxville in September 2014.
Haslam Scholar and senior in interdisciplinary studies in advocacy journalism R.J. Vogt won a Princeton in Asia fellowship that will allow him to spend at least a year working at a bilingual newspaper in Myanmar. To read the full story, see
Three students from Professor Julie Andsager’s (JEM) Writing about Science and Medicine class won prizes in this year’s J. Paul Blakely Awards competition sponsored by the Society for Technical Communication-East Tennessee Chapter. In the Science-Writing Category, Marian LaForest (Biological Sciences) won an Award of Distinction and Brad Hinds (JEM) won the Award of Merit.  In the Technical-Writing Division, Grace Rotz (English) won the Award of Distinction. Timothy Metcalf (English), who has taken two of Dr. Mark Littmann’s (JEM) science journalism courses, won an Award of Distinction in the Science-Writing Category.
Every spring, UT’s Office of Undergraduate Research & Engagement organizes the Exhibition of Undergraduate Research and Creative Achievement (EURēCA) — a multi-day exhibition and performance event for students. This year’s awards ceremony was held April 14 at the University Center auditorium.  CCI award recipients were:
Benjamin Murphy (JEM & cinema studies), “The merry death collector”, first place; faculty mentor Associate Professor Paul Harrill (CA&S)
Kristin Knight and Kevin Brown (PR), “Recruiting millennials: How UT can leverage recruitment efforts among out-of-state students during a period of education reform,” second place; faculty mentor Associate Professor Lisa Fall (AdvPR).