Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Student News: Freemon, Trott, JEM 499, Balogun, Vogt, Hunt

BOBCATSSSMonique Freemon, a Communication and Information Master’s student, won the logo contest for the Lyon, France BOBCATSSS 2016 Conference.  BOBCATSSS is an annual symposium focused on themes relating to library and information science.  It is organized annually by students from European universities. In 2016, the School of Information Sciences at UT along with two universities in France will host the Lyon conference. The logo will be used on all conference materials and the website.

Louisa TrottLouisa Trott, an SIS Master’s student, has been awarded the Director’s Scholarship Fund by the Rare Book School.  This fund will enable Trott to attend a course at the Virginia school. Trott is the project coordinator for the Tennessee Newspaper Digitization Project at Hodges Library.

499 classJEM Professor Jim Stovall’s 499 class created a two volume iBook, Uncovering UT: The University of Tennessee You May Not Know About, during Fall 2015. They are interactive, multimedia books with information about the University that does not receive much attention.

BalogunJEM senior Rilwan Balogun won a media pool lottery position allowing him to be part of the local press core covering President Barack Obama’s recent trip to East Tennessee. Balogun covered the visit for The Volunteer Channel for which he serves as vice president.

R. J. VogtCollege Studies (with a primary focus on JEM) senior R. J. Vogt has been named a finalist for the 2015 Princeton in Asia Program. If selected, the program will allow him to spend a year writing for an English language newspaper in Asia.

Once again CCI has a student on the team of UT students working for the NFL at the Super Bowl.  Alexandria Hunt, a senior in advertising from Morristown, Tennessee traveled to Arizona to work behind the scenes with her UT teammates to gain invaluable hands-on experience at this one of kind event. 

Hunt - Super Bowl Team

From left to right: Molly Gronotte, Alexandria Hunt, Justin Worley, Ani Williams, Matt Darr, Rae Benton, Jacob Carter, Brittany Davis, Brian Russell, Kayla Godfrey, Will Crockett, Debbie Mackey, and Leah Scruggs.