Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Alumni News: Eaker, Littleton, Leek, Ponnappa, Christensen

Alumni News

The Digital Libraries Special Interest Group (SIGDL) of the Association for Information Science and Technology (ASIS&T) honored recent UT Information Sciences graduate Christopher Eaker (MS/IS ‘13) as the inaugural recipient of the Dr. Deborah Barreau Memorial Award, which is given for exceptional service, research and professional development activities.  He will be honored during a ceremony that will be held during the ASIS&T Annual convention in November in Quebec, Canada. 

Dean Littleton (BS/JEM ‘92) was appointed as Vice President and General Manager of WATE-TV, the ABC affiliate in Knoxville, TN.

Wallene T. Leek (BS/JEM ‘64) Agent with New York Life Insurance Company and a Registered Representative with NYLIFE Securities LLC has been elected to New York Life Insurance Company’s Agents Advisory Council (AAC).  The Agents Advisory Council is one the highest honors a New York Life agent can earn.

Professor, Associate Dean and Director of the Medical Library at the James H. Quillen College of Medicine at East Tennessee State University Suresh Ponnappa (MS/IS ’84) was honored for his service to ETSU on Sept. 23 in recognition of his retirement.  Ponnappa is an emeritus member of the School of Information Sciences’ Advisory Board and a current member of the CCI Board of Visitors. 

Abbigail Christensen (BS/CS ’13) has accepted a position as a full-time public relations coordinator for Fletcher PR, a public relations firm in downtown Knoxville.  Christensen met a representative from Fletcher at the Communications Job Fair last fall and stayed in touch (as her faculty coached her to do).  Her duties include writing blog posts and producing social media content.