Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Students Recognized at CCI, AdvPR and JEM Honors Convocation

CCI Convocation
The College of Communication and Information, the School of Advertising and Public Relations and the School of Journalism and Electronic Media’s best students were recognized on Apr. 15 at the College’s 2013 Honors Convocation.  Below is a list of students and the awards/scholarships they received.
On Nov. 8, the scholarship recipients and the scholarship donors will be invited to a special dinner in their honor.  The dinner will be held at the Holiday Inn World’s Fair Park in downtown Knoxville.

CCI Graduate Student Awards

  • Nate Evans – CCI Outstanding Graduate Research Award
  • Scott Eldredge – CCI Outstanding Graduate Teaching Award
  • Julie Winkelstein – CCI Outstanding Dissertation Award

CCI Graduate Student Association Awards

  • Margaret Grigsby – GSA Outstanding Masters Student Award
  • Betsy Dalton – GSA Outstanding Doctoral Student Award

Advertising and Public Relations Awards

  • Outstanding Advertising Graduate – Krista Bowman
  • Sammy Lynn Puett Public Relations Leadership Award – Kalee Harryman
  • J. Carroll Bateman Public Relations Award – Jennifer Gosciniak

Journalism and Electronic Media Awards

  • Outstanding Journalism and Electronic Media Graduate – Jessica Campbell
  • Outstanding Broadcast Student – Alice Mitchell
  • The Tennessee Journalist Student of the Year Award – Jennifer Brake
  • SCOOP Magazine Student of the Year Award – Christy Cleger
  • Best in TV News Award – Reanna Mortensen
  • Best in Media Sales Award – Johnny Rook
  • WUTK Student of the Year Award – Graham R. Smith
  • Best in TV Production Award – Richard “Alex” Thomason

We congratulate all of our outstanding undergraduate and graduate students for their achievements and are very grateful to those who made these scholarships possible!

Students Scholarships
Dallas Abel Society of Professional Journalist Scholarship
Rilwan Balogun Zack Binkley Memorial Scholarship
Katherine Banks Avron Spiro Scholarship
Andelyn Barclay Nat P. Caldwell Public Service Scholarship & Myron Chambers Scholarship
Kristen Barnett Knoxville News Sentinel Journalism Scholarship
Joyce Anne Benzi International Journalism Scholarship
Jessica Biggard Charles B. Davis Scholarship
Madeleine Bishop John P. Hart Scholarship in Broadcasting
Rachelle Blake Tom Siler Scholarship
Theresa-Rose Bolen Charles B. Davis Scholarship
Jennifer Brake Georgiana Fry Vines Scholarship
Kate Brimer Darrel Holt and Herbert Howard Broadcasting Scholarship for Graduate Students
Christie Ann Caldwell Lindsey Nelson Scholarship
Jackie Cameron Jerry Whitener Scholarship
Jessica Campbell Scripps Howard/Ernie Pyle Scholarship
Cecelia Chai John Robert Randt Scholarship
Hyuk Jun Cheong Sally J. McMillan Scholarship
Caitlyn Cline Nellie Kenyon Scholarship
Leslie Paige Cox BMI Foundation Inc./ Joseph Carriere Scholarship
David Doyle Michael Steven Head Scholarship
Scott Eldredge Faye Julian Scholarship
Mark Freeman John Robert Randt Scholarship
Elizabeth Anne Graves Jody Chambers Scholarship
Lauren Gregg Ron Taylor Scholarship and the Carol Poston Scholarship
Taylor Hathorne John Ward Sports Broadcasting Scholarship
William Housley, Jr. David Lee & Tina Smith Scholarship
Deborah Ince Scripps Howard Foundation 2013 Summer Internship
Ilwoo Ju Edward Meeman Fellowship in International Communication
Kelsey Keny Society of Professional Journalists Scholarship
Chloe Kidd Faye Julian Scholarship
Marion Kirkpatrick H. Wayne & Betty B. Hudson Scholarship
Kyle Knell Claude A. Tomlinson Scholarship
Abby Knight Tutt & Elizabeth Bradford Scholarship and the Ronald McMahan Memorial Scholarship
Kayla Lingerfelt David Mould Scholarship
Caitlin McCleary Leslie Meredith Williams Scholarship
Shayla McDaniel Bernard King Scholarship and Jody Chambers Scholarship
Jodi McDaniels Reeder-Siler Scholarship
Sandra McLean Sally Holder Johnson Scholarship
Alice Mitchell Edward B. Fabacher, III Scholarship
Molly Morgan James Wolfkiel Scholarship in Photojournalism
Benjamin Murphy Tom Sweeten Scholarship Fund
Andrea Overby McNeely, Pigott & Fox Scholarship and the Myron G. Chambers Scholarship
Johnny Parker Coca Cola Minority Scholarship
Ivanka R. Pjesivac Edward Meeman Fellowship
Danijela Radic Edward Meeman Fellowship
Caroline Reeves Richard Joel Scholarship
Kaitlyn Rice Janet Faye Breazeale Memorial Scholarship
Alexis Riggs Wallene T. Leek Scholarship and Julian & Virginia Harriss Scholarship
Deborah Robbins Lowell Blanchard Scholarship Fund
Chris Samoray Karl and Madira Bickel Scholarship
Garth Seiderman Sally Holder Johnson Memorial Scholarship
Mary Cathryn Suhocki Journalism and Electronic Media Faculty Scholarship and Scripps Howard Foundation 2013 Summer Internship
Elizabeth Smith Anne Holt Blackburn Scholarship
Emily Smith McNeely, Pigott & Fox Scholarship and the James Lawrence Fly Scholarship
Samantha Smoak Faye Julian Scholarship
Maggie Solomon Harry Moskos Scholarship
Trevor Stokes Kelly Leiter Scholarship
Diane Tate Leslie Meredith Williams Scholarship
Kermisha Tate Leslie Meredith Williams Scholarship
A. Robert Veronesi Journalism and Electronic Media Faculty Scholarship
Joshua Ward United Press International Award for Sports Scholarship
Patrick Wells Wallene T. Leek Scholarship and the Christopher Grabenstein Scholarship Fund
Dylan Wilkes Kelly Leiter Scholarship