Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Faculty News: Tenopir, Palenchar, Whiteside, Heller, Pjesivac, Imre

Dr. Erin WhitesideDr. Michael Palenchar
Chancellor’s Professor Carol Tenopir presented the day-two keynote on “Shaping the Future of Scholarly Communication” at the “Beyond the PDF 2” Conference in Amsterdam on Mar. 19 ( Tenopir is currently serving as a Visiting Professorial Fellow at the University of New South Wales in Sydney, Australia, while she is on professional development leave from UTK.
AdvPR Associate Professor Michael Palenchar has been selected as a national board member for the Commission on Public Relations Education. According to their website, the Commission on Public Relations Education is composed of public relations educators and practitioners representing 15 professional societies in PR and related fields of communications. Since 1975, the Commission has presented recommendations on public relations education. Colleges and universities throughout the world have adopted these recommendations enhancing the relevance and quality of public relations master’s education.
JEM Assistant Professor Erin Whiteside is the recipient of a 2013-14 Creative Teaching Grant from the University of Tennessee Teaching and Learning Center. Receipt of the grant will allow her to develop a new special topics class for Fall 2013 entitled “Issues in Sports Media” (see
JEM Professor Rob Heller’s photograph was selected for the International Juried Portrait Photography Exhibition at the 12 12 Gallery in Richmond, Va., and received the Director’s Choice Award (see
Communication and Information doctoral candidates Ivanka (Radovic) Pjesivac and Iveta Imre won this year’s BEA (Broadcast Education Association) News Division Debut Paper Competition (second place). Their paper, “Believing the News: The Effects of Type of Journalist and Type of Sources on Reporter Credibility, Article Credibility, and Organizational Credibility,” will be presented at the BEA conference in Las Vegas, Apr. 7-10.