Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

JEM Hosts Murrow Journalists

2012 Edward R. Murrow journalists

The School of Journalism and Electronic Media (JEM) hosted the Edward R. Murrow Program for Journalists Nov. 5-8, 2012.  The program is a partnership between the U.S. Department of State, the Aspen Institute and nine leading U.S. schools of journalism including UT. 

The three-week long program gives international journalists first-hand experience with U.S. journalistic practices by visiting Washington D.C. and one of the nine campuses of the partnership schools

The program, which began in 2006, was named in honor of the late CBS News journalist Edward R. Murrow.  Approximately 135 journalists from 90 countries participated in this year’s program.  JEM’s participation in the Murrow Program began in 2008.

JEM hosted 17 journalists from 15 Pacific Rim/Asian countries (see below), along with four interpreters and State Department couriers. 

  • Burma
  • Cambodia
  • Hong Kong SAR
  • Indonesia
  • Japan
  • Malaysia
  • Micronesia
  • New Zealand
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Philippines
  • Republic of Korea
  • Singapore
  • Taiwan
  • Thailand
  • Vietnam

Peter Gross, JEM director and professor, said, “This unique opportunity exposes our students to journalism as it exists outside of the United States. The everyday challenges faced by the Murrow journalists in their home countries as compared to the freedoms enjoyed and taken for granted by US journalists provide an eye-opening dose of reality which educates beyond the textbook.  We are very grateful and proud to be a part of the select group of universities partnering in the Murrow Program.”