Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Circle Park News: April 2012 (Special Edition)

Having trouble viewing this email? View it in your browser.

College of Communication and Information

April 11, 2012

College News


CCI Faculty and Students Honored at Chancellor’s Honors Banquet

Chancellor CheekChancellor Cheek

Seventeen CCI faculty and students were honored April 9 at the forty-sixth annual Chancellor’s Honors Banquet. The event recognizes outstanding service and achievement on a campus-wide basis. “The recognition received by our students and faculty is very well deserved,” said CCI Dean Mike Wirth. “We congratulate our award winners on their accomplishments and celebrate the excellence that these awards represent!”

courtney Vick, torchbearer award

Courtney Vick

Courtney Vick, JEM major from Lebanon, TN, was one of seven UT undergraduates to be named a Torchbearer, the highest honor the university gives to its students. Recognition as a Torchbearer reminds all students that those who bear the Torch of Enlightenment shadow themselves to give light to others. Vick has served the Volunteer community through her work with SGA, as president of Mortar Board, as a Panhellenic executive council member, and with the Volunteer Channel Network. In her work with TeamVOLS, Vick serves as corporate event and development chair for Dance Marathon. She will continue representing UT as a member of Teach for America next year.


ashton davis, Extraordinary campus leadership & service

Ashton Davis

Ashton Davis, a JEM senior from Nashville, received the Extraordinary Campus Leadership & Service Award. Davis excelled academically and as a leader of several organizations. She serves as a CCI student ambassador, as president of her sorority and is active in SGA. She has served her community though politics, having interned for US Senator Bob Corker, Congressman Zach Wamp, and Knox County Mayor Tim Burchett.

Lisa Fall, Outstanding Teacher Award

Lisa Fall

Lisa Fall, AdvPR associate professor, received the UT Alumni Association’s Outstanding Teacher Award. This award, given annually by the UT Alumni Association, is one of the most treasured honors given to faculty, symbolizing excellence in the classroom. Fall sees her teaching role as a manager and mentor. She creates a classroom culture that encourages student engagement and discussion. Students are involved in projects and research that allow them to work with real clients in the community, giving them a chance to apply what they have learned and to develop their professional experience before entering the workforce. +


Catherine luther, 2012 UT Notable Woman Award

Catherine Lutheer

Catherine Luther, associate CCI dean and JEM professor, received the 2012 UT Notable Woman Award. Luther is an internationally known scholar whose research focuses on international media and gender studies. She is particularly known for her Fulbright Scholar research, which focused on the influence of mass media on health behaviors of male and female teenagers in Japan. In her role as associate dean, she has heightened the college’s awareness of diversity and gender issues by organizing a college-wide diversity curriculum workshop and implementing a diversity statement for course syllabi. As a professor, she created two courses on media, diversity and gender.


Shelby thompson, Extraordinary Community Service Award

Shelby Thompson

Shelby Thompson, a PR major from Franklin, TN, received the Extraordinary Community Service award. During her time at UT, she has provided at least 500 hours of community service annually. She is involved with the Big Brothers, Big Sisters program. Her “little sister”, one of six children, will be the first in her family to attend college this coming fall. Thompson also gives her time and shares her talent with the Tennessee Camp for Diabetic Children, the Ronald McDonald House, and the Children’s Miracle Network. On campus, she is the philanthropy chair for her sorority and in 2010 was named the National Collegiate Volunteer of the Year.

Also honored….

The following CCI students were also honored at the banquet for Extraordinary Academic Achievement, for Extraordinary Professional Promise, for being an Outstanding Scholar Athlete, and for receiving Undergraduate Research and Creative Achievement Awards in UT’s annual EURēCA (Exhibition of Undergraduate Research and Creative Achievement) competition.
Extraordinary Academic Achievement
• Weston Duke, CS
• Alexis Foster, PR
• Michelle Lavone, JEM, also awarded Top Collegiate Scholars citation
• Billy Thomas, ADV
Extraordinary Professional Promise
• Rachel Gammons, SIS
• Thomas Elijah Herington, JEM
• Lisa Kellerman, SIS
• Courtney Lyle, JEM
Outstanding Scholar Athlete
• Chanelle Price, JEM
Undergraduate Research & Creative Achievement Award Winners
• Stephanie Dixon, JEM
• Clara Reed, JEM
• Jennifer Smith, JEM