Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Graduate Student Association Formed; Officers Elected

Submitted by Donna Silvey on October 3, 2011 – 8:51am

Graduate Student Picnic

Graduate students, including both Masters and Doctoral students representing each of the schools within the College of Communication and Information, have formed the college’s first Graduate Student Association. The goals for the Graduate Student Association are to provide a supportive, academic and social community for CCI graduate students, as well as to provide a channel of communication between graduate students and the college administration.  After researching graduate student associations at other communication programs and obtaining advice from CCI faculty, a set of by-laws was drafted and an election was held.  The first president of the organization is charged with the task of launching the new organization this fall.

During the initial meeting the following officers were elected:

President: Scott Eldredge (Comm. Studies)
Vice President (JEM): Dzmitry Yuran Vice President (Ad/PR): Nate Evans (nominated, pending confirmation)
Vice President (Comm. Studies): Betsy Dalton
Vice President (Information Sciences): Becca Anderson
Secretary: Todd Suomela (Information Sciences)
Treasurer: Katie Reno (Comm. Studies)

Committee Chairs
Outreach:   Lorna Keathley (Comm. Studies)
Social:       Iveta Imre (JEM)
Awards:     Crystal Sherline (Information Sciences)
Records:    Kyle Heuett (Comm. Studies)

The newly elected representatives to the Graduate Studies Committee have also been asked to participate as Board Members of the Graduate Student Association. Those representatives are:

PhD:    Denae D’Arcy (JEM)
Masters:    Katelyn Brownlee (Comm. Studies)